The Bio of Charles Macavoy Followed By a wonderful interview by Ms. Kathryn Jenkins

Posted: September 2, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Charles Macavoy

Born and raised in Fulham, Charles Macavoy has rarely ventured far from home. After losing his parents when still in High School, Charlie went off the rails for a while, until childhood friends, Derek and Grace helped him fight his way back.

Fiercely loyal, with a protective streak that evolved into a desire to serve, Charlie now works for the Metropolitan Police in the Homicide and Serious Crime Division.

At the beginning of his career he was partnered with Nathan Morgan. Nathan was killed in the line of duty, a tragedy which shook Charlie’s foundations once again. His brother, Brad Morgan, one of the founders of Morgan and Fairchild, gave Charlie back his faith and the two have remained friends since, joining forces from time to time.

Charlie has a new partner now, Bobby Jones, and together they protect the city, viewing it as their own personal responsibility.

With a reputation for being tough, but fair, Charlie uses all the resources at his disposal and does not stop until justice is served.

Charlie Macavoy

Character Interview

By: ]Kathryn Jenkins

 

 

 

Q: Where do you presently work? And why did you choose this career for yourself?

 

A: I work within a murder investigation team, which is part of the Metropolitan Police Service. I’ve always felt a strong sense of duty, of responsibility for others. I don’t know where it comes from, but it’s the reason I gravitated towards the force.

 

Q: We have heard you have a reputation for being tough. Do you believe this has anything to do with your life experiences?

 

A: Our experiences definitely shape us, but I think the desire to protect and to serve is in my blood. My mother was a nurse and she loved her job. She was also an avid reader and was fond of referring to her favourite authors, especially if she had a point to make. She once said, ‘No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.’ It’s a quote by Charles Dickens and it’s one that stayed with me.

 

My expectations are high, so I demand the best in myself and others. It’s probably where the tough comes from, but I’d also like to think I’m fair.

 

Q: You and your partner Bobby Jones, are thick as thieves throughout, Hands of Evil. What helped you two create the bond you presently have?

 

A: I recognised the passion in him, the desire for justice. We’re a lot alike, so I know what he’s thinking because I’m thinking it too. It happens that way sometimes and I got lucky. We’re just in tune. He’s like my conscience, or my sounding board.

 

Q: There is a strong emotional tie between you and your childhood friends Grace and Derek that shows up on several occasions in, Hands of Evil. Can you tell us a bit about how you met each? And how you feel about them till this very day?

 

A: I went to school with Derek and he’s my brother in all the ways that matter. I know I can always count on him. I was in the last year of High school when I met Grace. She was tall for her age and way too thin, but she had this fire in her eyes that drew people in. It still does. I complained at first, made out she was cramping our style but she saw right through me. That hasn’t changed either. I inherited a little sister the day we met and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

Q: Okay, so there is plenty of heat between you and Susannah. We are dying to know how you met her and your first thought was?

 

A: We met through Brad Morgan, who is the better half (sorry Kel) of Morgan and Fairchild. The moment I saw her, this petite, sexy woman with a voice that can make a grown man cry, I knew I was in trouble!

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Thanks so much for hosting today 🙂 I really appreciate your support.

    I enjoyed the process of completing this character interview – Kathryn asked some great questions! Preparing for the tour was exciting enough, but actually taking part is terrific 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Melissa Barker-Simpson and commented:
    A huge thank you to James Jones for hosting today. I really enjoyed preparing the character interview and hope you enjoy Charlie’s bio.

  3. I like this approach to character development. If only I’d do it for my own characters!

    • It was a new experience for me and one I will definitely repeat. All the information was there in my head, but it’s useful to have it down on paper – I need to remember these things!

Leave a Reply

